Warwickshire County Council Flood Risk Management Newsletter Autumn 2018

Great Alne is in Stratford on Avon District


Applications are invited for the post of Clerk to Great Alne Parish Council. This is an interesting and varied post, working mainly from home, supporting an active, community focused parish council.

You will handle the agenda and take minutes for our bi-monthly evening meetings and deal with all the council’s correspondence and administration.

Twycross is in Leicestershire

An opportunity has arisen to join Twycross Parish Council as the Parish Clerk (Proper Officer) / Responsible Financial Officer.  The role is varied in its nature and offers the applicant a high degree of flexibility in their working pattern.

  • 43 hours per month (days/times flexible)
    • (Approximately 10 hours per week plus an evening meeting)
  • NJC salary scale 20–24 (£10.30–£11.64 per hour)

Claydon with Clattercote is in Oxfordshire

Claydon with Clattercote Parish Council is seeking applications for the post of Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer.

  • Working from home
  • Hours: 15 per month
  • Salary: NJC Scale LC1 or 2 (£9.341 to £12.404 per hour), starting point depending upon experience and transferable skills.

In a speech at NALC's Annual Conference, Rishi Sunak MP paid tribute to local (parish and town) councils and the “people who are dedicated to improving people’s lives every single day”.
Read the transcript of the speech, exactly as it was delivered

The Chancellor of the Exchequer has announced that public toilets will receive new mandatory business rates relief, following an extensive and prolonged campaign to end the toilet tax by the National Association of Local Councils (NALC) and Members of Parliament.

NALC have spotted that the Monday following the local council elections on Thursday 2 May next year (2019) falls on a bank holiday. This matters for establishing the date that councillors retire and new councillors assume office, that is, the fourth day after the ordinary day of election (s.16 (3) of the Local Government Act 1972).