Full List of Events

WALC Council Training

 training strategy SMALLERWALC provides training under the 'National Improvement Strategy for Parish and Town Councils'

The National Training Strategy (NTS) represents a national commitment to training in the local council sector shared by national, regional and local stakeholder organisations. The purpose of the Strategy is to offer training to councils in order for them to make the most of their role and carry out their duties more easily.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
An Introduction to VAT for Local Councils Tue 26 Mar 2019 9:30 am Burton Green Village Hall £30 to member councils 14
Registration is now closed
Understanding and Responding to Planning Applications Sat 6 Apr 2019 9:30 am Marston Green Parish Hall £30 to members 9 31
LOCAL ELECTIONS 2019 Thu 2 May 2019 - - -
Basic introduction to Playground Management and Inspection Fri 10 May 2019 10:00 am Wolston Leisure & Community Centre £30 to member councils 3 17
"Off to a Flying Start" An introduction for Councillors and Clerks Thu 6 Jun 2019 6:30 pm Great Alne & Kinwarton Memorial Hall Free to any member, new Councillor or Clerk who has not previously attended any training 0 60 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019
Chairmanship Skills Sat 8 Jun 2019 9:30 am £45 to member councils 0 30
"Off to a Flying Start" An introduction for Councillors and Clerks Tue 11 Jun 2019 6:30 pm Radford Semele Community Hall Free to any member, new Councillor or Clerk who has not previously attended any training 0 60 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019
"Off to a Flying Start" An introduction for Councillors and Clerks Wed 12 Jun 2019 6:30 pm Nether Whitacre Village Hall Free to any member, new Councillor or Clerk who has not previously attended any training 0 60 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019
"Off to a Flying Start" An introduction for Councillors and Clerks Thu 20 Jun 2019 6:30 pm Wolston Leisure & Community Centre Free to any member, new Councillor or Clerk who has not previously attended any training 0 60 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019
"Off to a Flying Start" An introduction for Councillors and Clerks Sat 22 Jun 2019 9:30 am Lapworth Village Hall Free to any member, new Councillor or Clerk who has not previously attended any training 0 60 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019
Understanding Council Meetings and the Law Sat 6 Jul 2019 9:30 am Nether Whitacre Village Hall £30 to Member Councils 0 50 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019
Understanding Finance, Planning and Community Sat 13 Jul 2019 9:30 am Lapworth Village Hall £30 to Member Councils 0 50 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019
Understanding Your Parish Council Sat 17 Aug 2019 9:30 am Binley Woods Village Hall £45 to Member Councils 0 50 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019
Understanding and Responding to Planning Applications Sat 14 Sep 2019 9:30 am Bearley Village Hall £30 to members 0 40
Understanding Your Parish Council Sat 28 Sep 2019 9:30 am Ettington Community Centre £45 to Member Councils 0 50 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019
Understanding Council Meetings and the Law Sat 19 Oct 2019 9:30 am The Grange Hall (Southam) £30 to Member Councils 0 50 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019
Understanding Finance, Planning and Community Sat 30 Nov 2019 9:30 am Corley Village Hall £30 to Member Councils 0 50 Registration will open on Thu 4 Apr 2019

Clerks Toolkit

Clerk Toolkit narrowThese sessions are intended, over a 12 month period, to give a complete grounding in the work of a parish clerk.  Each of the sessions are stand-alone but also build on each other and clerks can attend as many or as few as required. The sessions are open to clerks, assistant clerks and finance officers. 

When you have booked and paid for 5 toolkit sessions WALC will send you a coupon code so you can book your 6th session for free.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
Clerk's Toolkit - Interaction with Stakeholders Tue 14 May 2019 9:30 am Royal Leamington Spa Town Hall £15 for member clerks 1 14
Clerk's Toolkit - Planning & Neighbourhood Plans Tue 11 Jun 2019 9:30 am Studley Council Chamber £15 for member clerks 0 15
Clerk's Toolkit: Community Engagement Tue 2 Jul 2019 9:30 am Coleshill Town Hall £15 for member clerks 3 7
Clerk's Toolkit - From Bookkeeping to Budgets Tue 10 Sep 2019 9:30 am £15 for member clerks 0 15
Clerk's Toolkit: Understanding Core Roles in Parish Councils Tue 8 Oct 2019 9:30 am £15 for member clerks 0 10
Clerk's Toolkit: The Clerk's Year Tue 12 Nov 2019 9:30 am £15 for member clerks 0 10
Clerk's Toolkit: Audit Preparation Tue 10 Dec 2019 9:30 am WALC Offices £15 for member clerks 0 15
Clerk's Toolkit: Paperwork, Records & Archive Documents Tue 14 Jan 2020 9:30 am Venue to be confirmed £15 for member clerks 0 15
Clerk's Toolkit: Meetings Administration & Management Tue 11 Feb 2020 9:30 am Venue to be confirmed £15 for member clerks 0 15

CiLCA

cilcaThe Certificate in Local Council Administration

CiLCA helps you to become more aware of the law and procedures for local councils and helps you work with the planning system. CiLCA helps your council achieve standards of good practice and builds the reputation of local councils I a fast-changing world.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance unit 2 Wed 8 May 2019 9:30 am WALC Offices Free to training scheme subscribers 1
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance units 3&4 Wed 3 Jul 2019 9:30 am WALC Offices Free to training scheme subscribers 0
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance units 1&5 Thu 19 Sep 2019 9:30 am WALC Offices Free to training scheme subscribers 0
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance unit 2 Thu 21 Nov 2019 9:30 am WALC Offices Free to training scheme subscribers 0
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance units 3&4 Wed 15 Jan 2020 9:30 am WALC Offices Free to training scheme subscribers 0

WALC Area Meetings

Details of WALC Meetings in your area

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
Solihull Area Committee Thu 18 Apr 2019 7:30 pm The Pavilion, Kingshurst Open to all councils from Solihull Area 0
LOCAL ELECTIONS 2019 Thu 2 May 2019 - - -
Stratford WALC Liaison Meeting Thu 27 Jun 2019 6:00 pm Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all councils from Stratford on Avon District 0

External Events

These events are being run by outside bodies, please follow the links or registration button for more details and to contact the organisers.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
Difficult Conversations and Resolving Conflict Wed 27 Mar 2019 10:30 am New Directions Rugby £30.00 0
Licensing Workshop Thu 28 Mar 2019 5:00 pm Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all councils from Stratford District £35 3
GDPR and Protecting Personal Data Tue 2 Apr 2019 10:30 am Voluntary Action Coventry £30.00 0
Cemetery Management and Operation in Leicestershire Thu 4 Apr 2019 10:00 am £40 to members 0
Granting, Exercising & Transferring Rights of Burial Thu 4 Apr 2019 1:30 pm £40 to members 0
Difficult Conversations and Resolving Conflict Tue 9 Apr 2019 10:30 am CASE (Leicestershire) £30.00 0
RSA Warwickshire - How Low-Carbon is your Community? Sat 27 Apr 2019 9:15 am Harbury Village Hall Free event 0
Motivating Your Staff and Volunteers Wed 1 May 2019 10:30 am New Directions Rugby £30.00 0
LOCAL ELECTIONS 2019 Thu 2 May 2019 - - -
Promoting Your Organisation on Social Media Thu 16 May 2019 10:30 am Voluntary Action Coventry £30.00 0
Recruiting Staff with Confidence Fri 24 May 2019 9:30 am Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all Councils £45 0
Playground Inspection training in Leicestershire Mon 17 Jun 2019 9:00 am £50.00 0
Local Council EXPO Fri 21 Jun 2019 9:00 am Chateau Impney Pre-booked tickets from as little as £12.50 0