Full List of Events

WALC Council Training

 training strategy SMALLERWALC provides training under the 'National Improvement Strategy for Parish and Town Councils'

The National Training Strategy (NTS) represents a national commitment to training in the local council sector shared by national, regional and local stakeholder organisations. The purpose of the Strategy is to offer training to councils in order for them to make the most of their role and carry out their duties more easily.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
Understanding Your Parish or Town Council (Parts 1&2) Sat 17 Aug 2019 9:30 am Binley Woods Village Hall £46 to Member Councils 15
Understanding and Responding to Planning Applications Sat 14 Sep 2019 9:30 am Bearley Village Hall £30 to members 14
Understanding Your Parish or Town Council (Parts 1&2) Sat 28 Sep 2019 9:30 am Ettington Community Centre £46 to Member Councils 22
Chairmanship Skills Sat 5 Oct 2019 9:30 am Brandon & Wolston Village Hall £46 to member councils 27 3
Understanding Your Parish or Town Council (Part 1) Sat 19 Oct 2019 9:30 am The Grange Hall (Southam) £30 to Member Councils 10
3P’s – People, Plans and Precept Sat 26 Oct 2019 9:30 am Ettington Community Centre £30 to members 0
WALC Annual Conference and AGM Sat 9 Nov 2019 9:00 am Shire Hall (Warwick) £60 to Members, £30 County Committee, £120 non-members 150
Understanding Your Parish or Town Council (Part 2) Sat 30 Nov 2019 9:30 am Corley Village Hall £30 to Member Councils 10
3P’s – People, Plans and Precept Sat 7 Dec 2019 9:30 am Meriden Village Hall £30 to members 0
End of Year Financial Procedures Wed 22 Jan 2020 10:00 am Norton Lindsey Village Hall £30 to members 0

Clerks Toolkit

Clerk Toolkit narrowThese sessions are intended, over a 12 month period, to give a complete grounding in the work of a parish clerk.  Each of the sessions are stand-alone but also build on each other and clerks can attend as many or as few as required. The sessions are open to clerks, assistant clerks and finance officers. 

When you have booked and paid for 5 toolkit sessions WALC will send you a coupon code so you can book your 6th session for free.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
Clerk's Toolkit - From Bookkeeping to Budgets Tue 10 Sep 2019 9:30 am Long Itchington Community Centre £15 for member clerks 3 12
Clerk's Toolkit: Understanding Core Roles in Parish Councils Tue 8 Oct 2019 9:30 am £15 for member clerks 1 9
Clerk's Toolkit: The Clerk's Year Tue 12 Nov 2019 9:30 am Shipston-on-Stour Council Offices £15 for member clerks 2 8
Clerk's Toolkit: Audit Preparation Tue 10 Dec 2019 9:30 am WALC Offices £15 for member clerks 2 13
Clerk's Toolkit: Paperwork, Records & Archive Documents Tue 14 Jan 2020 9:30 am Coleshill Town Hall £15 for member clerks 0 15
Clerk's Toolkit: Meetings Administration & Management Tue 11 Feb 2020 9:30 am £15 for member clerks 0 15
Clerk's Toolkit - Legal Powers, Policies & Committees Tue 10 Mar 2020 9:30 am £15 for member clerks 0 15
Clerk's Toolkit - Interaction with Stakeholders Tue 12 May 2020 9:30 am £15 for member clerks 0 15
Clerk's Toolkit - Planning & Neighbourhood Plans Tue 9 Jun 2020 9:30 am £15 for member clerks 0 15
Clerk's Toolkit: Community Engagement Tue 14 Jul 2020 9:30 am £15 for member clerks 0 10

CiLCA

cilcaThe Certificate in Local Council Administration

CiLCA helps you to become more aware of the law and procedures for local councils and helps you work with the planning system. CiLCA helps your council achieve standards of good practice and builds the reputation of local councils I a fast-changing world.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance units 1&5 Thu 19 Sep 2019 9:30 am WALC Offices Free to training scheme subscribers 0
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance unit 2 Thu 21 Nov 2019 9:30 am WALC Offices Free to training scheme subscribers 0
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance units 3&4 Wed 15 Jan 2020 9:30 am WALC Offices Free to training scheme subscribers 0
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance units 1&5 Wed 26 Feb 2020 9:30 am WALC Offices Free to training scheme subscribers 0

WALC

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
WALC Annual Conference and AGM Sat 9 Nov 2019 9:00 am Shire Hall (Warwick) £60 to Members, £30 County Committee, £120 non-members 150

External Events

These events are being run by outside bodies, please follow the links or registration button for more details and to contact the organisers.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
Homelessness Act – one year on Thu 1 Aug 2019 5:00 pm Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all councils from Stratford District £35 3
Empty Properties and Standards for Social / Private Rented properties Thu 15 Aug 2019 5:00 pm Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all councils from Stratford District £35 1
Meet the Planning Service Thu 5 Sep 2019 5:00 pm Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all councils from Stratford District £35 1
Public Speaking Thu 12 Sep 2019 5:00 pm Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all councils from Stratford District £35 0
Meet the Planning Service Thu 3 Oct 2019 5:00 pm Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all councils from Stratford District £35 0
Media Skills Thu 10 Oct 2019 5:00 pm Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all councils from Stratford District £35 0
Extra Care Housing Thu 17 Oct 2019 5:00 pm Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all councils from Stratford District £35 0
NALC Annual Conference Mon 28 Oct 2019 Member rate = £211+VAT 0
Dealing with Difficult People Thu 31 Oct 2019 5:00 pm Elizabeth House (Stratford on Avon District Council Offices) Open to all councils from Stratford District £35 0