Proposed changes to the Planning System briefing with Neil Pearce Members watch the full briefing here
Toggle Bar

Full List of Events

If you are Member of WALC please ensure you are logged into our website, before registering for any events, to receive the Member discounted fees.  

PLEASE NOTE ALL OF OUR FACE TO FACE EVENTS HAVE BEEN CANCELLED UNTIL THE END OF 2020.

If you do not have a login please ask your Clerk who can set one up for you.

WALC Council Training

 training strategy SMALLERWALC provides training under the 'National Improvement Strategy for Parish and Town Councils'

The National Training Strategy (NTS) represents a national commitment to training in the local council sector shared by national, regional and local stakeholder organisations. The purpose of the Strategy is to offer training to councils in order for them to make the most of their role and carry out their duties more easily.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
Understanding: The Planning System Thu 1 Oct 2020 6:30 pm WALC Zoom Room This course is full and will be rerun early 2021 14 0

Sorry, the event is now full.

Chairmanship Skills - 3rd & 17th October Sat 3 Oct 2020 9:30 am WALC Zoom Room Course full - see 17 November 14 0
Understanding: Finance & Governance Wed 7 Oct 2020 4:00 pm WALC Zoom Room Members £25 6 8
3P’s – People, Plans and Precept Sat 24 Oct 2020 9:30 am WALC Zoom Room £30 to Member Councils 3 12
Putting Your Council on Facebook Tue 3 Nov 2020 4:30 pm WALC Zoom Room £25 to Member Councils 14 0
Responding to Planning Applications : 4th & 11th November Wed 4 Nov 2020 2:00 pm WALC Zoom Room Course full - see 2 December 20 0
Chairmanship Skills - 17 & 24 November 2020 Tue 17 Nov 2020 9:30 am WALC Zoom Room £50 to Member Councils - register on 17th November session to attend both. 13 1
Cemetery Management and Compliance Thu 26 Nov 2020 9:15 am WALC Zoom Room Course full - see 17 December 14 0

Sorry, the event is now full.

Responding to Planning Applications 2nd & 9th December 2020 Wed 2 Dec 2020 2:00 pm WALC Zoom Room £50 to Member Councils - register on 2nd December session to attend both. 9 11
Understanding: Employment Responsibilities Thu 3 Dec 2020 5:00 pm WALC Zoom Room Members £25 3 11
Getting Started with Twitter Wed 16 Dec 2020 4:30 pm WALC Zoom Room £25 to Member Councils 4 10
Cemetery Management and Compliance Thu 17 Dec 2020 9:15 am WALC Zoom Room £30 to Member Councils 7 7
Understanding: Meetings & Risk Wed 13 Jan 2021 6:30 pm WALC Zoom Room Members £25 0 14
Understanding: The Planning System Mon 25 Jan 2021 4:30 pm WALC Zoom Room £60.00 0 14

WALC

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
Clerk's Online Catch-up Thu 1 Oct 2020 11:30 am WALC Zoom Room This space is for Clerks and Council Officers only
Member Chairman's Update Thu 8 Oct 2020 11:30 am WALC Zoom Room Open to Member Chairman
WALC Annual General Meeting Wed 25 Nov 2020 7:00 pm WALC Zoom Room Open to Member Councils 100

Clerks Toolkit

Clerk Toolkit narrowThese sessions are intended, over a 12 month period, to give a complete grounding in the work of a parish clerk.  Each of the sessions are stand-alone but also build on each other and clerks can attend as many or as few as required. The sessions are open to Clerks, Assistant Clerks and Finance Officers. 

When you have booked 5 toolkit sessions you will get the 6th session for free.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
Clerk's Toolkit: Understanding Core Roles in Parish Councils Tue 13 Oct 2020 10:00 am WALC Zoom Room £15 for member clerks 8 2
Clerk's Toolkit: The Clerk's Year Tue 10 Nov 2020 10:00 am WALC Zoom Room £15 for member clerks 5 5
Clerk's Toolkit: Audit Preparation Tue 8 Dec 2020 10:00 am WALC Zoom Room £15 for member clerks 3 7
Clerk's Toolkit: Paperwork, Records & Archive Documents Tue 12 Jan 2021 9:30 am WALC Zoom Room £15 for member clerks 4 6
Clerk's Toolkit Meetings Administration & Management Tue 9 Feb 2021 9:30 am WALC Zoom Room £15 for member clerks 4 6
Clerk's Toolkit: Legal Powers, Policies & Committees Tue 9 Mar 2021 10:00 am WALC Zoom Room £15 for member clerks 3 7
Clerk's Toolkit: Stakeholder & Community Engagement Tue 11 May 2021 10:00 am WALC Zoom Room £15 for member clerks 1 9
Clerk's Toolkit: Planning & Neighbourhood Plans Tue 8 Jun 2021 10:00 am WALC Zoom Room £15 for member clerks 2 8
Clerk's Toolkit: Bookkeeping Basics Tue 13 Jul 2021 10:00 am WALC Zoom Room £15 for member clerks 1 9
Clerk's Toolkit: From Bookkeeping to Budgets Mon 13 Sep 2021 10:00 am WALC Zoom Room £15 for member clerks 0 10

CiLCA

cilcaThe Certificate in Local Council Administration

CiLCA helps you to become more aware of the law and procedures for local councils and helps you work with the planning system. CiLCA helps your council achieve standards of good practice and builds the reputation of local councils in a fast-changing world.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance unit 2 Thu 12 Nov 2020 9:30 am WALC Zoom Room CiLCA Candidates only 2 4
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance units 3&4 Wed 20 Jan 2021 9:30 am WALC Zoom Room CiLCA Candidates only 0 6
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance units 1&5 Mon 15 Mar 2021 9:30 am WALC Zoom Room CiLCA Candidates only 0 6
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance unit 2 Thu 20 May 2021 9:30 am WALC Zoom Room CiLCA Candidates only 0 6
CiLCA Portfolio Guidance units 3&4 Wed 7 Jul 2021 9:30 am WALC Zoom Room CiLCA Candidates only 0 6

External Events

These events are being run by outside bodies, please follow the links or registration button for more details and to contact the organisers.

Event Event date Location Notes Registered Available places Register
Health & Wellbeing Week Mon 26 Oct 2020 Zoom £30/single event or £220/full week for NALC Members 0
In Conversation: Frome - Youth First Tue 17 Nov 2020 12:00 pm Zoom £30 for NALC Members 0
In Conversation: Biggleswade Virtual Study Tour Tue 26 Jan 2021 12:00 pm £30 for NALC Members plus £2.44 Fee + £6.49 VAT 0
Building Back Communities Week Mon 22 Mar 2021 £30/single event or £260/full week for NALC Members