County Committee

Role of the County Committee

The CountyCommittee has a very important role on behalf of its member Parish and Town Councils as it is responsible for the use of the member council subscriptions, more specifically it:                                 

  1. Manages, controls and administers the affairs of the CountyAssociation. 
  2. Replies on behalf of the Association to communications and consultation documents from Governmental and other bodies and persons, and the National Association of Local Councils. (NALC)
  3. Represents the Association on behalf of member councils on various outside bodies.
  4. Members are requested to send a report of such meetings to the WALC office for distribution to county committee members and when appropriate to member councils.
  5. Incurs such expenses, acquires and disposes of such property, enters into such commitments or arrangements and employ personnel or agents as may be suitable for carrying the policy of the CountyAssociation.
  6. Controls the finances, banking and investment of the CountyAssociation’s funds.
  7. No money shall be borrowed by or on behalf of the CountyAssociation without the CountyCommittee’s consent.
  8. Presents an annual report and submits the audited accounts to the Association’s AGM.
  9. Elects the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the CountyAssociation from amongst the members of the CountyCommitte

Membership of the County Committee 

The CountyCommittee is made up of parish and town councillors voted for at the AGM, or directly nominated from Association Area Committees, and from Parish and Town Councils with more than 9000 electors.

The Committee has a policy of reimbursing members’ travelling expenses when attending meetings on behalf of the Association.

The Association pays for three of its members to attend the National Association of Local Councils’ AGM and Annual Conference.

Cycle of Meetings

On average four meetings a year are held, generally in January, April, July and October.  They are held in the evening on various days of the week to accommodate members own parish council meetings, generally in Warwick as it is central for the county. The AGM is held at the end of October.

The very successful Annual Briefing Day is usually held in March and CountyCommittee members pay a substantially reduced delegate’s fee. 

Procedure for  nominations to the County Committee 

For representatives from parish and town councils without an Area Committee of the Association, a nomination form with a short biography should be submitted to the CountySecretary three weeks before the AGM

Names and contact details of representatives directly nominated from Active Area Committees and Councils with more than 9000 electors should be submitted to the CountySecretary three weeks before the AGM.  At present there are Active Area Committees for those member Councils in the Stratford West, Stratford South, Areas of Stratford upon Avon District,  Rugby, North Warwicks, Warwick and  Solihull Areas.

The CountyCommittee may exercise its right to co-opt members anytime during the year.

Please contact the CountySecretary for forms and further details, at the WALC offices

{slider title="WALC County Committee Members" class="blue solid"}

NAME                                       REPRESENTING

  • Councillor Sarah Boad                 Royal Leamington Spa Town Council WALC Vice-Chair
  • Councillor Steve Bolton                Stratford Area
  • Councillor Clare Horrocks             Sutton Coldfield Town Council
  • Councillor Bridgette Chandler       North Area
  • Councillor Dave Cuthbert              Solihull Area
  • Councillor Graham Cooper           Warwick Area
  • Councillor Dave Cuthbert              Solihull Area
  • VACANT                                        Chelmsley Wood Town Council
  • Mrs Aneeta Dhoot*                       Treasurer
  • Councillor Ian Davis                      Rugby Area
  • Mr. Len Gale *                               WALC Vice-President
  • Councillor Trevor Hopkins             North Warwickshire Area
  • Councillor John MacDonald          Castle Bromwich Parish Council
  • Councillor John Milne                   Rugby Area
  • Councillor Jim Pearson                North Warwickshire Area
  • Mr Ian Prosser *                           WALC President
  • Councillor Clive Sturgess             Stratford Area
  • Mrs. Elisabeth Uggerloese           Stratford Area
  • Councillor Andrew Walster           Stratford Area
  • Councillor Adrian Warwick           Rugby Area
  • Councillor Rosie Weaver BEM    Solihull Area - WALC Chair

* Members in a non-voting capacity

{slider title="Representation on The National Association and Other Bodies" class="blue solid"}

At 31 January 2021

NALC Assembly

NALC Policy Committee

Cllr Rosie Weaver B.E.M.


Chairman; Vice-Chairman; NALC Rep

CSW Resilience Team

Cllr T Hopkins

CSW Local Enterprise Partnership Planning Business Grp

Cllr C Sturgess


Warwickshire CC Liaison Group

Cllr S Bolton (Stratford); Cllr J. Milne (Rugby); Mr. L Gale (Vice President); Cllr. I Hodges (Warwick); Cllr B Chandler (N Warks.); County Officer; Chairman


Warwickshire Safer Communities Partnership Board

Mrs E Uggerlose

Warwickshire Rural Community Council (WRCC) - Board

Chairman or substitute

West Midlands Group of County Associations       

Chairman; NALC Rep; Vice Chairman; County Officer; Vice President